Do you have duplicate inventory items in your database? Maybe you have an item that was set up as C-4950 and C4950. Use the Inventory Item Merge screen (Administration > Inventory > Utilities > Merge Inventory Items) to merge inventory items.
What happens when you merge duplicate items?
- You select which inventory item is merged into the other item. The inventory item that is being merged is the Merge From item, and the inventory item that remains after the merge is the Merge To item.
- The Merge From item quantity on hand is reduced to zero.
- The Merge To item quantity on hand is increased by the Merge From quantity on hand.
- The system automatically creates a stock adjustment reason called Merge Inventory Items for the merged items. It is linked to the item's COGs account. Do not change this stock adjustment reason, because if the name is edited, the system will create a new stock adjustment reason the next time you do a merge.
- Any kits that include the Merge From item are updated to use the Merge To item.
- The Merge From item is added as an alias to the Merge To item.
- The Merge From item is marked as Do Not Sale, and will display in the following format: ** Item Merged into XXXX Item**.
- When running reports, sales of the Merge From item are included in the sales of the Merge To item.
Items cannot be merged if any of the following is true...
- Items have different Sell Unit of Measure ( Inventory > Edit Item button > Profile tab > Sell Unit of Measure field)
- One of the items is included in an open Physical Count - Complete the physical count and then merge the items.
- Merge From item has negative quantities - The Merge To item can have negative quantities.
- Merge From item is included in an open inter-company purchase order (ICPO) - Update the ICPO and then merge the inventory items.
- Merge To item is marked as Do Not Sell (Inventory > Edit Item button > Options tab > Sell This Item box is not checked)
- Merge From item was previously merged
- Items have different Item Types (Inventory > Edit Item button > Profile tab > Type field)
- Stock/Nonstock items can be merged
- Labor/Other can be merged
- Stock/Nonstock and Labor/Other items cannot be merged
Merge duplicate inventory items
Use the Inventory Item Merge screen (Administration > Inventory > Utilities > Merge Inventory Items) to merge duplicate inventory items.
- Open the Inventory Item Merge screen (Administration > Inventory > Utilities > Merge Inventory Items).
- Select the item that you want to continue using in the This Inventory Item Will Stay section. The duplicate inventory item will be merged into this item.
- Click the Show Possible Duplicates button in the This Inventory Item Will Stay section. The Possible Duplicates screen appears.
- Select the duplicate inventory item and click Select. This populates the selected item in the This Inventory Item Will Be Merged and Deactivated section. This is the inventory item that will be deactivated.
- If the duplicate inventory item does not display, click Cancel and then manually select the duplicate item in the This Inventory Item Will Be Merged and Deactivated section.
- Click Merge. A confirmation message appears.
- Click Yes. A success message appears and lists additional information. The information on this screen will also appear in the Notes tab of the item that was deactivated (Inventory > Edit Item button > Notes tab).
- The items have been merged.
Unless explicitly stated, this topic documents the most recent version of Evosus Business Enterprise. If you're not using the latest version, go here to download it.
Did you find it helpful?Send feedback