The Job Cost Transfer feature (Administration > Job Costing > Job Cost Transfer) allows you to move costs from one job to another without voiding or recreating any transactions.  The Job Cost Transfer simply moves a specified amount based on phase and cost code from one job to another.  The cost transfer displays on the general ledger and the Cost Log for each job.

Click Add to enter a Cost Transfer.  You will enter the Post Date (the date the transaction posts to the general ledger) and an amount.  You then select the Transfer From and Transfer To job, phase and cost code.  Click OK to save.

Click Reverse to reverse the highlighted cost transfer.  You may need to reverse a cost transfer if the incorrect job, phase or  cost code was selected.  Reversing the cost transfer will reverse the entry on the general ledger and job Cost Logs.  The reverse date and employee will be displayed in the grid.

Use the date drop down in the upper right to filter the list of Job Cost Transfers.  By default, the current quarter is selected, but you can use the drop down or the arrows to move through quarters.

Options button

Add Cost Transfer - Enter a new cost transfer.

Reverse Cost Transfer - Reverses the highlighted job cost transfer.

Go to From Job - Takes you to the job profile of the Transfer FROM job indicated in the cost transfer.

Go to To Job - Takes you to the job profile of the Transfer TO job indicated in the cost transfer.


Additional Information on Transferring Costs

As stated earlier, the Job Cost Transfer feature allows you to move costs from one job to another without voiding or recreating any transactions. That being said, it is important to note that the original transactions will show as associated to the original job. This is because you're not moving the transaction - you're only moving the cost. If you want the transactions to be correct on each job rather than just moving the cost, then you must do one of the following:

If the transaction is not posted, paid or revenue has not been recorded, then you can simply change the original transaction.

  • For materials, undeliver the item and delete it.  Then add and deliver the item correct job.
  • For timecards, unapprove the time, adjust the allocations and re-approve the time.
  • For AP transactions or debit memos, open the transaction and edit the job allocations.

If the transaction is posted, paid or revenue has been recorded and you cannot update the original transaction, you have different options depending on the type of transaction you're working with.

  • For materials, you must delete the revenue recognition, undeliver the item and delete it.  If you do not want to delete the revenue recognition, then you must perform a job cost transfer.
  • For timecards, you must delete the revenue recognition, unapprove the timecards, adjust the allocations and re-approve the time.  If you do not want to delete the revenue recognition, then you must perform a job cost transfer.
  • For AP Transactions, you must delete the revenue recognition, void the payment and then void the transaction.  If you do not want to delete the revenue recognition or void the payment, then you must perform a job cost transfer.


Security Permissions Required

Category
Function
Job Costing
Job Cost Transfer - Can Add
Job Cost Transfer - Can Reverse