Details:
Use the Job screen to view and change the status of a Job (Administration > Job Costing > Search Jobs > Dbl click on a Job > Change Status). 



Open-Bid

A bid is being presented to the customer. You are waiting for approval to begin the project.

Once a job is Active, you may change it back to a Bid status as long as the following has not occurred:

#1 Cost Log records exist for job.

#2 Unapproved timecard allocations exist for job.

#3 Revenue has been recognized


Closed-Lost

The customer declined the bid.


Open-Active

The customer accepted the bid and you are currently working on the project or will soon begin the project.

The following must be completed before a job can be made Active:

#1 At least one phase must exist


Close-Completed

The Job is completed and all bills, payments, and revenue recognition has been entered.

You cannot close a job until the following has occurred:

#1 Amount Billed must equal total amount of Bid (if there was a permanent change in the bid amount and the Bill amount is now less than the Bid amount, use a change order to edit the original bid amount).  

#2 All timecard allocations must be approved

#3 All costs must be recognized

#4 All revenue must be recognized

#5 Final revenue recognition must exist (clears out Jobs in Progress account)


Closed-Cancelled

 The Job has been cancelled in any status and will not be completed at anytime. You cannot close a job if the following exists:

#1 Cost Log records exist for job.

#2 Unapproved timecard allocations exist for job.

#3 Revenue has been recognized

#4 Job Team 
(Administration > Job Costing > Search Jobs > Select a job > Job Team tab) is a group of individuals working on a specific job and could include the foreman, key sub-contractors and internal employees or technicians. The Job Team menu is a great place for storing all pertinent contact information for each job team member. The job team list, including contact information, will print on the internal version of the job Work Order.

#5 Phases are alpha/numeric codes or names that signify a job activity. Phases are generally unique to the job type. For instance, you may have different phases for a new pool construction versus custom spa installation. Phases are critical to the setup of a job and dictate how materials, labor and AP transactions will be allocated.- All materials, labor, AP transactions, work orders, job bills, sub-contractors, budget line items and cost log entries are allocated to the job using a specific phase and cost code combination.

 - Phases are created and stored in a "tree" format, similar to the Chart of Accounts or Inventory tree. 

 - Our recommendation is to have one Summary Phase and at least one Detail phase for each high level job activity. For instance, "Contract & Permits" might be your Summary phase and below that is "Contract Signed" and "Permits Acquired." Another example might be "Excavation" as the Summary phase and "Excavation" as the Detail phase as well.

 - Click Add Summary Phase to enter a new high level Summary phase. Only the Name field is required. We recommend placing numeric codes at the beginning of each phase to ensure the Phase sort order is correct. For instance, 01, 02, 03, 04, etc.

 - You may optionally select a Jobs in Progress and Job Expense account at the phase level. Entering GL accounts here will override the GL expense account associated with the cost code as well as the Jobs in Progress account specified in the Job Accounting menu. We do NOT recommend selecting GL accounts on this screen without first speaking to an Evosus Support Specialist.

 - Changing the status of a phase to "Closed" will prevent any costs from being assigned to the phase. This is a good way to control what costs are assigned to each phase once the phase is complete. Double click a Summary Phase to update the phase information.

 - Click Add Detail Phase to enter a new detail phase. Only the Name field is required. We recommend placing numeric codes at the beginning of each phase to ensure the Phase sort order is correct. For instance, 01, 02, 03, 04, etc.

 - You may optionally select a Jobs in Progress and Job Expense account at the detail phase level. Entering GL accounts here will override the GL expense account associated with the cost code as well as the Jobs in Progress account specified in the Job Accounting menu.  This will also override any GL selection entered in the Summary phase. We do NOT recommend selecting GL accounts on this screen without first speaking to an Evosus Support Specialist.

 - Changing the status of a phase to "Closed" will prevent any costs from being assigned to the phase. This is a good way to control what costs are assigned to each phase once the phase is complete. Double click a detail phase to update the phase information.